Clive Lewis elected Chair of All Party Parliamentary Humanist Group

15 June, 2015

Clive Lewis
Clive Lewis MP, the new Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Humanist Group

Humanists in Parliament gathered today for the AGM of the All Party Parliamentary Humanist Group (APPHG), electing a new committee and a new Chair in the form of Clive Lewis, the MP for Norwich South.

The APPHG is the All Party Group representing humanists within the halls of Westminster, and is made up of over 100 MPs and Peers from all the major parties. Together they speak out on issues of importance to humanists and work to promote human rights, a secular state, and to address contemporary ethical issues within Parliament. The group is assisted by the British Humanist Association (BHA), which provides its secretariat.

Elections are held for the role of Chair and for officer roles within the group after each general election. APPHG members elected the following members to serve on the committee as officers until the 2020 general election.

Chair Clive Lewis MP (Labour)
Vice Chair Crispin Blunt MP (Conservative)
Vice Chair Lord Warner of Brockley (Labour)
Co-Chair Lord Taverne of Pimlico (Liberal Democrats)
Co-Chair Lord Garel-Jones (Conservative)
Co-Chair Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour)
Co-Chair Baroness Flather of Windsor (Crossbencher)
Secretary Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour)
Treasurer Lord Dubs of Battersea (Labour)

BHA Chief Executive Andrew Copson commented, ‘The next five years will be a crucial time for the APPHG, particularly on issues around education, assisted dying, and humanist marriage. I look forward to working closely with Clive and all the members of the APPHG towards our shared goal of a fairer Britain ensuring equality for all.’

Parliamentarians in attendance also heard from Mr Copson about the BHA’s strategic priorities for the next five years across its campaigns and community support work.


For further comment or information, contact Pavan Dhaliwal at  or 0207 079 3585.

The British Humanist Association (BHA) is the national charity representing and supporting the non-religious and campaigning for an end to religious privilege and discrimination based on religion or belief. It promotes a secular state and equal treatment in law and policy of everyone, regardless of religion or belief.