Humanists in Parliament

The All-Party Parliamentary Humanist Group is a cross-party group of Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords of all the main parties, including members from the Crossbenches in the Lords.

The Group has grown rapidly, from its first beginnings in the 1960s; in 1996 it had 47 members and it now has over 115. Associate membership of the Group is also open to staff of MPs and peers and staff working for the House of Commons or House of Lords.

The Group is not part of Humanists UK, but Humanists UK provides the secretariat for the Group.

For more information you can email Karen Wright, Humanists UK Public Affairs Manger and the APPHG Secretariat.

The Group meets around four times a year to hear speakers and discuss relevant issues, as well as to share information and receive briefings on matters of interest. These matters are wide-ranging and include the promotion of a rational approach to bioethical, medical, and scientific issues; the defence of free speech, civil liberties, and education; constitutional issues and freedom of religion or belief; and other issues of relevance to humanists.

On 9 May 2023, members elected the following individuals as officers.

Chair: Tommy Sheppard MP (SNP)

Co-Chair: Baroness Bakewell DBE of Stockport (Labour)

Secretary: Dr Kieran Mullan MP (Conservative)

Treasurer: Lord Dubs of Battersea (Labour)

Vice Chairs: Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour), Rachel Hopkins MP (Labour), Clive Lewis MP (Labour), Jeff Smith MP (Labour), Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP (Labour), Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour), Lord Taverne of Pimlico (Liberal Democrats), Baroness Burt of Solihull (Liberal Democrats), and Lord Warner of Brockley (Crossbench).